The present website is supported by two bodies that between them seek to make better known the work of André Boucourechliev, composer, writer, teacher, radio personnality, and to ensure his ongoing influence. These bodies are the Association des Amis d'André Boucourechliev (The Association of the Friends of André Boucourechliev), set up under the relevant French law of 1901, and the André Boucourechliev Foundation, under the ægis of the Fondation de France.

 

L'Association des Amis d'André Boucourechliev

 

Founded in September 1998 under the active presidency of Claude Helffer who premiered many of the composer's piano works, this is a forum for encounters, discussions, and projects, bringing together contemporaries of André Boucourechliev as well as younger composers, performers, musicologists and personal friends.

 

The Association can boast of having, in a few years, presided over a new edition of the Essai sur Beethoven, the publication of the Third Quartet and of Fragments de Michel-Ange, Boucourechliev's last work, as well as having helped or promoted performances and recordings of his works.

 

At the same time Alain Poirier edited an important volume for the publisher Fayard (2002), which was at once hailed as a reference.

 

The creation of an annual composition competition highlighted financial needs that subscriptions alone could not cover.

 

The André Boucourechliev Foundation

 

In 2001 Jeanne Boucourechliev proposed :

 

- to donate to the Association, for a period of 20 years, Boucourechliev's royalties from his musical works, which, added to the subscriptions, will finance its activities ;

 

- to create, in her own name, a foundation under the ægis of the Fondation de France (it was done that same year), this Foundation taking on the financing of the Competition.

 

This open composition competition forms the 'object of general interest' that a French foundation is legally obliged to pursue. In addition, the Foundation assists young ensembles with a view to encouraging the performance and diffusion of contemporary music, alongside its promotion of the work of André Boucourechliev.

 

For some years the system has functioned satisfactorily. The board of directors and the meetings of the Association are a forum for exchanges of views, the establishment of projects and of various collaborations between the differents actors on the music scene.

 

The present site is an illustration of this fertile collaboration. In order to simplify research, all the activities and projects undertaken by one or other body are grouped into a single archive, the indication of the partner concerned appearing in the documentation itself.

 

AB au départ

 

André Boucourechliev

Le présent site a deux parrains qui se partagent les actions destinées à mieux faire connaître l'œuvre d'André Boucourechliev, compositeur, écrivain, enseignant, homme de radio, et à assurer son rayonnement. À cette fin, deux entités ont été créées, l'Association des amis d'André Boucourechliev, association déclarée de la loi de 1901, et la Fondation André Boucourechliev, sous l'égide de la Fondation de France.

 

L'Association des amis d'André Boucourechliev

 

Constituée dès septembre 1998, sous la présidence active de Claude Helffer qui avait créé nombre des œuvres pour piano du compositeur, c'est un lieu de rencontres, de discussions, de projets, qui regroupe compositeurs contemporains d'André Boucourechliev ou plus jeunes, interprètes, musicologues et amis personnels.

 

L'Association peut se targuer d'avoir, en peu d'années, assuré une nouvelle édition de l'Essai sur Beethoven, la publication du 3ème Quatuor et des Fragments de Michel-Ange, dernière œuvre d'André Boucourechliev, aidé ou promu des exécutions et l'enregistrement de disques de ses œuvres.

 

Parallèlement, Alain Poirier dirigeait un important volume chez Fayard (2002), immédiatement considéré comme un ouvrage de référence.

 

La création d'un concours annuel de composition fit apparaître des besoins financiers que les seules cotisations ne peuvent couvrir.

 

La Fondation sous égide

 

Jeanne Boucourechliev proposa en 2001 :

 

- de faire apport à l'association des droits d'auteur d'André Boucourechliev sur ses œuvres musicales, pour une durée de 20 ans, ce qui, ajouté aux cotisations, finance ses activités ;

 

- de créer, à titre personnel, une fondation sous égide de la Fondation de France, ce qui fut fait cette même année, la Fondation assumant le financement du concours.

 

Le concours, largement ouvert, constitue l'objet d'intérêt général que doit poursuivre une fondation. En outre, la Fondation aide de jeunes ensembles pour encourager la création et la diffusion de la musique contemporaine, parallèlement à la promotion de l’œuvre d’André Boucourechliev.

 

Depuis des années, le système fonctionne de façon satisfaisante. Le conseil d'administration et l'assemblée de l'Association sont lieux d'échange de vues, définitions de projets et de collaborations diverses entre les différents acteurs de la vie musicale.

 

Le présent site est l'illustration de cette collaboration féconde. Pour simplifier les recherches, l'ensemble des actions et travaux menés par l'une ou par l'autre entité constitue un seul corpus de recherche, l'indication du partenaire concerné apparaissant dans la communication même.

 

 

AB au départ

 

André Boucourechliev